Environmental Policy Task Force News

"Terrible Twelve" Anti-Property Rights Congressmen Named


For Immediate Release: July 17, 1996

Contact: David Ridenour at (202) 507-6398 or EPTF@aol.com

The National Center for Public Policy Research joins the League of Private Property Voters (LPPV) in naming the "Terrible Twelve" -- twelve members of the House and Senate who pose the greatest threat to property owners. They are: Senators Max Baucus (D-MT) and Paul Wellstone (D-MN) and Representatives Sherwood Boehlert (R-NY), David Bonior (D-MI), George Brown (D-CA), Vic Fazio (D-CA), Elizabeth Furse (D-OR), Sam Gejdenson (D-CT), Maurice Hinchey (D-NY), David Obey (D-WI), Chris Shays (R-CT), and Mike Ward (D-KY).

"This 'Terrible Twelve' have threatened property owners across the country by voting against compensation when land is taken by the government, fighting the balancing of costs and benefits in government regulations, opposing all reforms of the Endangered Species Act and shutting down public lands from public use," said LPPV Director Chuck Cushman. "Each member of the 'Terrible Twelve' led the charge in the wrong direction on important land use and property rights issues."

Among the "Terrible Twelve's" worst offenses:

"The 'Terrible Twelve' apparently believes that no burden on American families is too high to preserve America's natural resources," said David Ridenour, Vice President of The National Center for Public Policy Research, a LPPV member group. "They've apparently lost sight of the fact that the most precious natural resource we have is the American family."

The LPPV is a coaliton of over 300 organizations from all 50 states. It represents family businesses, farmers, miners, ranchers and recreationists. ###

<<< Return to National Center Home Page

<<< Return to the Hot Topics Index

<<< Return to the EPTF Press Release Index

<<< Return to the Science and the Environment Index